The DFFB’s Festival Office takes charge of non-commercial exploitation of our students’ films at film festivals. The aim is to foster the films’ visibility internationally and to help directors, producers, cinematographers and screenwriters develop their reputations.

Films by DFFB students are shown at film festivals all over the world. These range from A festivals like the Berlinale or the film festivals in Cannes, Locarno and Toronto to other major international festivals such as Rotterdam or South by South West, to name just a few examples.

Working in conjunction with the students, a specific strategy is devised for each film. The students are then in charge of film submission and exploitation with support from the Festival Office. This allows students to get a good overview of strong film festivals, which they will also be able to work with as they continue to build their career in future. It is important for us to give students a clear sense of the best options for positioning certain films to ensure the films enjoy a good screening career.

Contact person for DFFB films and festival strategies
Josephine Settmacher
Phone: +49 30 25759 152
E-Mail: j.settmacher@dffb.de

Das Festivalbüro der DFFB beschäftigt sich mit der nicht-kommerziellen Auswertung der Filme der Studierenden auf Filmfestivals. Ziel ist es, die Sichtbarkeit der Filme weltweit zu fördern und eine Reputation für Regisseure/innen, Produzenten/innen, Kameramänner und –frauen und Drebuchautoren/innen aufzubauen.

Die Filme der DFFB Studierenden sind auf Filmfestivals auf der ganzen Welt vertreten. Dies geht über A-Festivals wie der Berlinale, den Filmfestspielen in Cannes, Locarno und Toronto zu anderen weltweit bedeutenden Festivalevents wie Rotterdam, South by South West und vielen mehr.

Zusammen mit den Studierenden wird eine filmspezifische Festivalstrategie entwickelt. Die Einreichungen und Auswertung der Filme wird dann durch das Festivalbüro unterstützt und durch die Studierenden selbstständig durchgeführt. So können die Studierenden einen guten Überblick über starke Filmfestivals gewinnen, den sie auch für ihre zukünftige Karriere nutzen können. Wichtig ist es uns, einen Eindruck zu vermitteln, wo man bestimmt Filme am besten platzieren kann, um so den Filmen eine gute Laufbahn zu ermöglichen.

Ansprechpartnerin für die DFFB Filme und Festivalauswertungen ist
Josephine Settmacher
Phone: +49 30 25759 152
E-Mail: j.settmacher@dffb.de