Talent Transference was a five year (from 2011 to 2016) exchange programme between the DFFB, the Columbia University School of the Arts in New York and the California Institute of the Arts (CalArts) in Los Angeles.

Each year, three DFFB students spent eight weeks at the Columbia University in New York City and at the CalArts in Los Angeles and three students from Columbia and CalArts spent eight weeks at the DFFB.

In addition, Talent Transference allowed the DFFB to invite guests and tutors from the United States to the DFFB. In the last two years the programme has hosted Andrew Bujalski, Nina Menkes and Cathy Haase, Lucien Castaing-Taylor and Verena Paravel and Marie Losier.

The programme was designed to promote an exchange of ideas and to enable an encounter between young, aspiring film makers and experienced professionals. At the same time it encouraged and promoted transatlantic cooperation and co-productions.

The TALENT TRANSFERENCE program was funded by the German Programme for Transatlantic Meetings (Transatlantic Programme), which is financed from ERP funds of the Federal Ministry of Economics and Energy (BMWi) and the GWFF.

Fünf Jahre lang, von 2011 bis 2016, haben wir mit dem Programm Talent Transference ein Austausch zwischen den USA und Deutschland, zwischen Studenten, Dozenten und amerikanischen Filmemachern ermöglicht. Der Studentenaustausch fand mit der renommierten Columbia University School of the Arts in New York und dem California Institute of the Arts in Los Angeles statt.

Jedes Jahr sind drei DFFB Studenten für acht Wochen zur Columbia University nach New York und zur Cal Arts nach Los Angeles gefahren. Im Gegenzug sind je drei amerikanische Studenten an die DFFB gekommen.

Außerdem wurden mit Talent Transference amerikanische Filmemacher und Dozenten der Partnerhochschulen nach Berlin eingeladen. So waren Andrew Bujalski, Lucien Castaing-Taylor und Verena Paravel, Nina Menkes, Tag Gallager und Marie Losier zu Gast.

Mit dem Programm wurde der Austausch von Ideen, die Begegnung von jungen wie auch erfahrenen Filmemachern, aber auch konkret die Konzeption von Kooperationen und Koproduktionen von jungen Filmemachern und ihren Filmprojekten gefördert.

Das Programm wurde durch das Transatlantik-Programm der Bundesrepublik Deutschland aus Mitteln des European Recovery Program (ERP) des Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft und Energie (BMWi)und der Gesellschaft zur Wahrnehmung von Film- und Fernsehrechten mbH (GWFF) gefördert.