Shoes from Trieste

(Shoes from Trieste)

Germany / 2014
Narrative / 11 min / Colored

Director:Gregor Božič
Script: Gregor Božič, Marina Gumzi
Cinematography: Christoph Greiner
Producer: Marina Gumzi, Stanislav Danylyshyn
Production: Deutsche Film- und Fernsehakademie Berlin

A fleeting memory of an old woman looking back at her youth brings about a moment of elegance in times of the after-war misery.

In recent years I have been extensively researching my home region, the countryside in western Slovenia. There I was collecting stories, people, places to feed my imagination as well as to reach with them vivid images and memories from my childhood.

During these searches several different people told me the same story about their dancing shoes. Having been working on land from their early age, local feasts were the most awaited social events for young people from remote parts of the region. In order to keep their only non-working shoes clean for the dance, they were willing to walk for several hours barefoot or with their wooden working clogs to reach the dance floor. It seems, a simple pair of shoes made it possible for people to change their perspective and appreciation of themselves.

This short film is an attempt to jump to another time to recreate there a small emotional journey and show with it the ordinary life thorugh a microscope glass and to hopefully touch with it its core – the human dignity.

back to result list
new search

Shoes from Trieste

Deutschland / 2014
Spielfilm / 11 min / Farbe

Regie:Gregor Božič
Buch: Gregor Božič, Marina Gumzi
Kamera: Christoph Greiner
Producer: Marina Gumzi, Stanislav Danylyshyn
Produktion: Deutsche Film- und Fernsehakademie Berlin

Eine flüchtige Jugenderinnerung einer älteren Slowenische Frau, die den Hauch der Eleganz aus den Zeiten des Nachkriegselends auslöst.

In den letzten Jahren habe ich umfangreiche Nachforschungen in meiner Heimat, im Westen von Slowenien, betrieben. Während dieser Zeit sammelte ich Geschichten von Menschen und Orten um mein Vorstellungsvermögen zu erweitern und lebhaft Errinerungen und Bilder meiner Kindheit abzurufen.

Während dieser Forschungen erzählten mir verschiedene Leute die selbe Geschichte ihrer Tanzschuhe. Als Sie zu ihrer Zeit auf dem Land arbeiteten, waren Lokale Feste das sehnsüchtig erwartete Ereignis für junge Leute aus der Umgebung. Um ihre guten Schuhe zum Tanzen sauber zu halten, nahmen Sie in kauf mehrere Stunden barfuß oder in ihren Arbeitspantoffeln aus Holz zu gehen, bis sie die Tanzfläche erreichten. Es weckt den Anschein, das ein simples paar Schuhe den Menschen ermöglichte die eigene Perspektive und Wertschätzung zu ändern.

Dieser Kurzfilm ist ein Versuch in eine andere Zeit zu springen um eine kleine Emotionale Reise anzutretten die das gewöhnliche Leben durch ein Mikroskop betrachtet und damit hoffentlich ihren Kern trifft – die Menschliche Würde.

zurück zur Ergebnisliste
Neue Suche