The DFFB was founded in 1966 as a non-profit GmbH. It is exclusively owned by the State of Berlin, and receives institutional funding from the State of Berlin to finance its academic activities.

The DFFB trains students in the following specialisations: directing, cinematography, producing, screenwriting, and editing/sound. Students are awarded a certificate of completion upon graduation.

In terms of entrance requirements and study programmes, the DFFB is comparable to German state university fine arts/arts and sciences programmes of study.

The curriculum is structured through study regulations.

The DFFB has a student council, which is composed of students from all academic years.

The DFFB’s director is Ben Gibson. Head of Business Affairs is Rusta Mizani.


The DFFB Board:

Staatssekretär Christian Gaebler, Vorsitzender des Kuratoriums
Eberhard Junkersdorf, Bioskop Film, stellvertretender Vorsitzender des Kuratoriums
Kirsten Niehuus, Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg
Iris Brockmann, Senatsverwaltung für Finanzen
Claudia Tronnier, ZDF – Das Kleine Fernsehspiel
Regina Ziegler, Ziegler Film
Martina Zöllner, Rundfunk Berlin-Brandenburg
Fabian Gasmia, Detail Film


Ben Gibson


Rusta Mizani

Head of Business Affairs