Conference with the rbb: “THE REVOLUTION WILL BE TELEVISED”

THE REVOLUTION WILL BE TELEVISED:

young filmmakers, new audiences, different television content

– a conference by the rbb and the DFFB

In debates on the future of public television, certain people have already written off TV as we know it—and see the aging public as proof of this—while others like to complain that broadcasters are no longer fulfilling their programming mandate. The first perspective is rife with resignation, the other is focused on the past. Where is the passion and zest for new and young audiences? Of course, there are works by new talents and experiments with new formats in order to win a younger audience to public programming.

The conference THE REVOLUTION WILL BE TELEVISED, a cooperation between the rbb and the DFFB, will focus on these future perspectives: How can young filmmakers and the medium of television work together to attract a younger demographic? Which formats and narrative forms can be (further) developed to arouse the audience’s curiosity towards the many facets and possibilities of the moving image?

The one-day conference aims to discuss the best examples of successful television content from Germany and abroad, take a look at the different ways in which television commissioning editors work with young filmmakers, and address the desires and ambitions of these filmmakers and the problems that they encounter when working with television channels. During the conference, students will look at television content, commissioning editors will present their work,  participate in round tables, and identify problems.

This event is by invitation only—we ask for your understanding on this issue. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact us via e-mail.

*At DFFB events, photos and films are taken which may be published on our website, in publications and on DFFB social media channels. With your participation you agree to this.

Konferenz mit dem rbb: „THE REVOLUTION WILL BE TELEVISED“

THE REVOLUTION WILL BE TEELVISED:

Junge Filmschaffende, neues Publikum, anderes Fernsehen?

– eine Konferenz von rbb und DFFB

In den Debatten über die Zukunft des öffentlich-rechtlichen Fernsehens haben die einen das lineare TV schon abgeschrieben – und sehen das alternde Publikum als Beweis dafür –, während die anderen gern beklagen, die Sender kämen ihrem Programmauftrag nicht mehr nach. Das eine klingt resigniert, das andere rückwärtsgewandt. Wo bleibt in diesen Erwartungshaltungen die Lust, die Leidenschaft, der Elan – fürs Neue und für junges Publikum? Dabei gibt es selbstverständlich Praktiken der Nachwuchsarbeit und Experimente neuer Formate, um ein jüngeres Publikum für das öffentlich-rechtliche Programm zu gewinnen.

Bei der Konferenz „THE REVOLUTION WILL BE TELEVISED“, einer Kooperation von rbb und DFFB, soll der Schwerpunkt auf diese Zukunftsperspektiven gelegt werden: Wie können junge Filmemacher*innen und das Fernsehen zusammenarbeiten, um junge Zielgruppen (wieder) an sich zu binden? Welche Formate, welche narrativen Erzählformen können (weiter)entwickelt werden, die die Neugier des Publikums wecken – für die vielen Facetten und Möglichkeiten des Bewegtbilds?

Die eintägige Konferenz will die besten Beispiele aus In- und Ausland diskutieren, die verschiedenen Ansätze von Redaktionen und Nachwuchs, die größten Wünsche und Ambitionen thematisieren und klären, was ihnen
bisher noch im Weg steht: Studierende schauen Fernsehen, TV-Redakteur*innen stellen ihre Arbeit vor, Arbeitstische identifizieren Probleme.

Moderation: Katrin Brinkhoff

Wir bitten um Verständnis dafür, dass sich die Veranstaltung nur an eingeladene Gäste richtet. Bei Fragen können Sie uns gern via E-Mail kontaktieren.

*Bei den Veranstaltungen der DFFB werden Foto- und Filmaufnahmen angefertigt, die ggf. auf unserer Website, in Publikationen und auf den Social-Media-Kanälen der DFFB veröffentlicht werden. Mit Ihrer Teilnahme erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden.