Angela Schanelec, Max Linz, David Dietl, and other DFFB Alumni at the Berlinale

The 69th Berlin International Film Festival presents nine films created with the participation of DFFB alumni.

 

ICH WAR ZUHAUSE, ABER (I WAS AT HOME, BUT) from graduate Angela Schanelec screens in competition. The film tells the story of a mother and her 13-year-old son, who returns home without a saying word after disappearing for a week.

  • Tuesday, 12.2., 16:00, Berlinale Palast (World Premiere)
  • Wednesday, 13.2., 9:30, Friedrichstadt-Palast
  • Wednesday, 13.2., 12:30, Haus der Berliner Festspiele
  • Wednesday, 13.2., 18:00, Friedrichstadt-Palast
  • Thursday 14.2., 15:30, Odeon, Berlinale Goes Kiez

 

Alumnus Jonas Weydemann produced SYSTEMSPRENGER (SYSTEM CRASHER) by Nora Fingscheidt, which is screening in competition. The drama focuses on a nine-year-old girl (Helena Zengel), who is proving to be too much to handle for all the pedagogical systems involved in her case.

  • Friday, 08.02., 15:30, Berlinale Palast (World Premiere)
  • Saturday, 09.02., 9:30, Friedrichstadt-Palast
  • Saturday, 09.02., 12:00, Haus der Berliner Festspiele
  • Saturday, 09.02., 20:30, HAU Hebbel am Ufer (HAU1), Berlinale Talents
  • Thursday, 14.02., 17:00, JVA Plötzensee, Berlinale Goes Kiez (no tickets required)
  • Sunday, 17.02., 18:30, Berlinale Palast

 

Max Linz’s film WEITERMACHEN SANSSOUCI (MUSIC AND APOCALYPSE) (camera: Carlos Andrés López) celebrates its world premiere in Forum. The Institute for Cybernetics and Simulation Research is threatened with closure—this is the starting point for this satire about the transformation of the university system into a turbo-capitalist research machine.

  • Tuesday, 12.02., 18:30, Delphi Filmpalast
  • Wednesday, 13.02., 13:45, CineStar 8
  • Friday, 15.02., 20:00, Cubix 9
  • Sunday, 17.02., 19:30, Colosseum 1

 

Uli M. Schueppel presents DER ATEM (THE BREATH) (camera: Cornelius Plache) screening in Panorama. The film shows a collection of existential experiences taking place at night in Berlin—fragments of portraits, stitched together to form a composition.

 

  • Wednesday, 13.02., 21:30, Zoo Palast 1
  • Thursday, 14.02., 12:30, CinemaxX 7
  • Friday, 15.02., 22:00, Colosseum 1
  • Saturday 16.02., 20:00, International

 

David Dietl’s documentary BERLIN BOUNCER (camera: Eric Ferranti/Raphael Beinder, produced by Martin Heisler/Gabriele Simon)—also preoccupied with Berlin at night—celebrates its world premiere in Perspektive Deutsches Kino. This documentary tells the story of three legendary Berlin bouncers—Frank Künster, Smiley Baldwin and Sven Marquardt—working in the once-divided city and in today’s nightclub metropolis.

  • Sunday, 10.02., 22:30, CinemaxX 1,
  • Monday, 11.02., 22:00, Colosseum 1
  • Saturday, 16.02., 20:00, CinemaxX 1

 

Ute Aurand’s film RASENDES GRÜN MIT PFERDEN (RUSHING GREEN WITH HORSES) will screen in Forum Expanded. RASENDES GRÜN MIT PFERDEN (RUSHING GREEN WITH HORSES) is a collection of short observations and encounters filmed between 1998 and 2018.

  • Friday, 8.2., 16:15, Kino Arsenal
  • Saturday, 9.2., 17:00, Werkstattkino des silent green

 

The film UMWEG (DETOUR), directed in 1982 by Ute Aurand and Ulrike Pfeiffer, screens in Retrospektive.

  • Tuesday, 12.2., 16:30, CinemaXX 8
  • Wednesday 13.2., 21:30, Zeughauskino

 

Screenplay graduate Ariana Berndl wrote the script for OH BEAUTIFUL NIGHT with director Xaver Böhm, and the film screens in Panorama. Although Juri is young, his life is dominated by the fear of dying. Nocturnal panic attacks are familiar to him.

  • Tuesday, 12.02., 20:00, International
  • Wednesday, 13.02., 12:30, CinemaxX 7
  • Thursday, 14.02., 22:00, Colosseum 1
  • Friday, 15.02., 17:45, CineStar 3
  • Saturday, 16.02., 19:30, Zoo Palast 2

 

The cinematography for BORN IN EVIN by Maryam Zaree, screening in Perspektive Deutsches Kino, was executed by DFFB graduate Siri Klug. The children who were born in Iran’s most notorious prison Evin and then grew up in the West witnessed torture, murder, and human rights violations. German-Iranian actress Maryam Zaree is one of these children. When she learns that she was born in Evin, Zaree sets out to search for other children also born there in order to better understand her own story.

 

  • Saturday, 09.02., 19:00, CinemaxX 3
  • Sunday, 10.02., 12:00, Colosseum 1
  • Sunday 10.02., 20:00, CinemaxX 1

 

We wish you a fantastic festival and film experience at the Berlinale!

Back to Journal

Angela Schanelec, Max Linz, David Dietl und andere DFFB Alumni auf der Berlinale

Die 69. Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin zeigen neun Filme mit Beteiligung von DFFB Alumni.

Im Wettbewerb läuft ICH WAR ZUHAUSE, ABER von Absolventin Angela Schanelec. Es ist die Geschichte über eine Mutter und ihren 13jährigen Sohn, der wortlos, nachdem er für eine Woche verschwunden war, nach Hause zurückkehrt.

  • Di, 12.2., 16:00 Uhr, Berlinale Palast (Weltpremiere)
  • Mi, 13.2., 09:30 Uhr, Friedrichstadt-Palast
  • Mi, 13.2., 12:30 Uhr, Haus der Berliner Festspiele
  • Mi, 13.2., 18:00 Uhr, Friedrichstadt-Palast
  • Do 14.2., 15:30 Uhr, Odeon, Berlinale Goes Kiez

 

Alumnus Jonas Weydemann hat den Wettbewerbsbeitrag SYSTEMSPRENGER von Nora Fingscheidt produziert. Im Mittelpunkt des Dramas steht ein neunjähriges Mädchen (Helena Zengel), mit dem alle pädagogischen Systeme überfordert sind.

  • Fr, 08.02., 15:30 Uhr, Berlinale Palast (Weltpremiere)
  • Sa, 09.02., 09:30 Uhr, Friedrichstadt-Palast
  • Sa, 09.02., 12:00 Uhr, Haus der Berliner Festspiele
  • Sa, 09.02., 20:30 Uhr, HAU Hebbel am Ufer (HAU1), Berlinale Talents
  • Do, 14.02., 17:00 Uhr, JVA Plötzensee, Berlinale Goes Kiez (keine Tickets)
  • So, 17.02., 18:30 Uhr, Berlinale Palast

 

Max Linz’ Film WEITERMACHEN SANSSOUCI (Kamera: Carlos Andrés López) feiert seine Weltpremiere im Forum. Dem Institut für Kybernetik und Simulationsforschung droht die Schließung – so das Ausgangsszenario dieser Satire über die Verwandlung des Universitätsbetriebs in eine turbokapitalistische Forschungsmaschinerie.

  • Di, 12.02., 18:30 Uhr, Delphi Filmpalast
  • Mi, 13.02., 13:45 Uhr, CineStar 8
  • Fr, 15.02., 20:00 Uhr, Cubix 9
  • So, 17.02., 19:30 Uhr, Colosseum 1

 

Uli M. Schueppel präsentiert DER ATEM (Kamera: Cornelius Plache) im Panorama. Der Film zeigt eine Ansammlung von existenziellen Erlebnissen aus der Berliner Nacht – Porträtfragmente, die zu einer Komposition zusammenfügt wurden.

  • Mi, 13.02., 21:30 Uhr, Zoo Palast 1
  • Do, 14.02., 12:30 Uhr, CinemaxX 7
  • Fr 15.02., 22:00 Uhr, Colosseum 1
  • Sa 16.02., 20:00 Uhr, International

 

Auch David Dietls Dokumentarfilm BERLIN BOUNCER (Kamera: Eric Ferranti/Raphael Beinder, produziert von Martin Heisler/Gabriele Simon) beschäftigt sich mit der Berliner Nacht und feiert seine Weltpremiere in der Perspektive Deutsches Kino. Die Dokumentation über drei legendäre Berliner Türsteher – Frank Künster, Smiley Baldwin und Sven Marquardt erzählt aus ihrem Leben als Türsteher in der einst geteilten Stadt und der heutigen Club-Metropole.

  • So, 10.02., 22:30, CinemaxX 1,
  • Mo, 11.02., 22:00, Colosseum 1
  • Sa, 16.02., 20:00, CinemaxX 1

 

Außerdem zeigt Ute Aurand ihren Film RASENDES GRÜN MIT PFERDEN im Forum Expanded. RASENDES GRÜN MIT PFERDEN ist eine Sammlung kurzer Beobachtungen und Begegnungen, gefilmt zwischen 1998 und 2018

  • Fr, 8.2., 16:15 Uhr, Kino Arsenal
  • Sa, 9.2., 17:00 Uhr, Werkstattkino des silent green

 

Der 1982 von Ute Aurand und Ulrike Pfeiffer gemeinsam entwickelte Film UMWEG läuft in der Retrospektive.

  • DI, 12.2., 16:30 Uhr, CinemaXX 8
  • MI 13.2., 21:30 Uhr, Zeughauskino

 

Drehbuchabsolventin Ariana Berndl hat zusammen mit Regisseur Xaver Böhm das Drehbuch zu OH BEAUTIFUL NIGHT geschrieben, der Film läuft im Panorama. Obwohl Juri jung ist, wird sein Leben von der Angst zu sterben beherrscht. Nächtliche Panikattacken sind ihm vertraut.

  • Di, 12.02., 20:00 Uhr, International
  • Mi, 13.02., 12:30 Uhr, CinemaxX 7
  • Do 14.02., 22:00 Uhr Colosseum 1
  • Fr, 15.02., 17:45 Uhr, CineStar 3
  • Sa, 16.02., 19:30 Uhr, Zoo Palast 2

 

Die Bildgestaltung zu BORN IN EVIN von Maryam Zaree in der Perspektive Deutsches Kino hat DFFB Absolventin Siri Klug übernommen. Die Kinder, die im berüchtigtsten Gefängnis Irans, dem Evin, geboren und im Westen aufgewachsen sind, wurden Zeugen von Folter, Mord und Menschenrechtsverletzung. Eines dieser Kinder ist die deutsch-iranische Schauspielerin Maryam Zaree. Als sie eines Tages erfährt, selbst im Gefängnis geboren zu sein, begibt sie sich auf die Suche nach anderen Kindern, um auch ihre eigene Geschichte besser zu verstehen.

  • Sa, 09.02., 19:00 Uhr CinemaxX 3
  • So, 10.02., 12:00 Uhr Colosseum 1
  • So 10.02., 20:00 Uhr CinemaxX 1

 

Wir wünschen allen ein fantastisches Kino- und Festivalvergnügen!

Zurück zum Journal