The German Film and Television Academy Berlin (DFFB), founded in 1966, is one of the most prominent film schools in Europe. Focusing on the essential crafts of filmmaking, the school offers five specialisations: Screenwriting, Cinematography, Directing, Producing, and Editing & Sound. The DFFB is a place where young filmmakers from Germany and abroad come together to tell stories and to make creative and innovative films. Prominent DFFB graduates include Helke Sander, Christian Petzold, Angela Schanelec, Wolfgang Becker, Lars Kraume, and Emily Atef. The DFFB also offers attractive networking and specialisation opportunities through its internationally oriented education programmes: Serial Eyes, NEXT WAVE, UP.GRADE, and Filmnetzwerk Berlin.

NEWS

All screenings of DFFB and Alumni films and all the DFFB events at the 70. Berlinale you will find here. We wish you an inspiring time!

JOURNAL

NEXT WAVE PROGRAMME OPEN FOR ADMISSIONS – APPLY NOW!

The challenges for the film industry in 2020 are unprecedented. While everyone is still adapting to the digital revolution, we find ourselves in the middle of the next disruption by the Covid-19 crisis causing a breath-taking acceleration of the on-going changes. NEXT WAVE addresses these changes by focusing on emerging developments in the film industry …

more

DFFB films you should know about

At the DFFB, around 120 films — including 15 feature films — are written, directed, produced, and edited each year. They travel to around 200 film festivals worldwide and, in 2018, they won prizes in 25 festivals.

Here you can find a selection of DFFB films that are either brand new or currently travelling to the most important international festivals.

Die Deutsche Film- und Fernsehakademie Berlin (DFFB) ist seit 1966 die Filmschule des Landes Berlin. Sie fokussiert sich in der Ausbildung auf die grundlegenden Bereiche des Filmemachens: Drehbuch, Bildgestaltung, Regie und Produktion sowie Montage Bild & Ton. Die DFFB ist ein Ort, an dem junge Filmschaffende aus Deutschland und dem Ausland zusammenkommen, Geschichten erzählen und daraus kreative und innovative Filme machen. Mit ihren international ausgerichteten Weiterbildungsprogrammen Serial Eyes, NEXT WAVE und UP.GRADE sowie dem Filmnetzwerk Berlin bietet die DFFB darüber hinaus attraktive Spezialisierungs- und Vernetzungsmöglichkeiten.

NEWS

Aktuelle Informationen und Regelungen zum Akademiebetrieb sowie unser Hygienekonzept im Zusammenhang mit der anhaltenden Corona Pandemie findet ihr hier.

JOURNAL

Information für Studieninteressierte

Im kommenden Studienjahr nehmen wir die neuen Studierenden auf, die derzeit das Auswahlverfahren durchlaufen. Dabei handelt es sich um das Bewerbungsverfahren von 2019, welches infolge der Corona Pandemie unterbrochen werden musste. Aufgrund der mittelfristigen Auswirkungen der Pandemie wird 2020 kein Bewerbungsverfahren an der DFFB stattfinden. Diejenigen, die ein Filmstudium an der DFFB zu starten beabsichtigen, …

mehr

DFFB Filme, die man kennen sollte

Die Filme der DFFB-Studierenden sind weltweit auf Filmfestivals vertreten: von A-Festivals wie der Berlinale, den Filmfestspielen in Cannes, Locarno und Toronto zu anderen, bedeutenden Festivalevents wie Rotterdam, South by South West und vielen mehr.

An dieser Stelle werden wir monatlich drei bis vier DFFB-Filme hervorheben, die entweder gerade frisch fertiggestellt wurden oder die auf den besten Festivals der Welt gezeigt werden.