DFFB celebrates five nominations for the First Steps Awards

The 20th First First Steps Awards will be presented on September 9, 2019, and the DFFB is delighted to have five nominations for these coveted awards:

Director Susanne Heinrich’s feature film DAS MELANCHOLISCHE MÄDCHEN has been nominated for the best feature-length film, which comes with a €25,000 prize.

Director Lothar Herzog’s feature film 1986 has also been nominated in the same category.

Cinematographer Agnesh Pakozdi is nominated for the MICHAEL BALLHAUS PRIZE, which comes with a €10,000 prize, for her work on DAS MELANCHOLISCHE MÄDCHEN.

Producer Romana Janik is nominated for the NO FEAR AWARD, which comes with a €10,000 prize, for her work on the film 1986.

And finally, Jacob Hauptmann’s screenplay ZEIT DER MONSTER is nominated for the FIRST STEPS SCREENPLAY PRIZE, which comes with a €10,000 prize.

 

About the films/screenplay

DAS MELANCHOLISCHE MÄDCHEN

A girl roams through the city looking for a place to sleep. Along the way she meets young mothers who celebrate motherhood religiously, goes home with an abstinent existentialist for whom sex is “just another market”, and waits for the end of capitalism in a drag bar. Her attempt to write a book doesn’t make it beyond the first sentence of the second chapter, and she finds no space between art galleries, yoga studios, and the beds of strangers. Instead of trying to fit in, she starts perceiving her depression as a political issue. Through 15 of the girl’s humorous encounters, DAS MELANCHOLISCHE MÄDCHEN, explores our post-modern society between precarity and self-marketing, serial monogamy and neo-spirituality, disillusionment and the pressure to be happy. Susanne Heinrich’s debut film brings together pop and theory, feminism and humour, and gives you tons of quotes you’ll want to see on advertising billboards in neon letters.

 

1986

Elena is a student in Minsk, Belarus. She has a passionate but increasingly difficult relationship with her boyfriend Victor. When her father is suddenly arrested, she has to continue his illegal businesses. In order to make deals for him, she must repeatedly drive into the ‘forbidden zone’ of Tchernobyl. She is fascinated by the zone’s deceptive beauty—but soon her life seems contaminated by a destructive force…

 

ZEIT DER MONSTER

It’s the summer of 1914, just before the beginning of the First World War. Elsa (19), a nurse with a strict Calvinist upbringing, takes a position in a remote hospital ward in the German colony of Cameroon. While the leading physician Alexander (37), with Elsa’s help, rigorously pursues his research to create a drug against narcolepsy, his wife Lydia (28) struggles to find meaning in her life. When Elsa discovers several poisoned animals in the infirmary, the commander of the nearest police force begins to investigate the case with brutal methods. The irruption of violence causes the already fragile structure of the infirmary to collapse and brings repressed desires to the surface, which plunges Elsa’s ordered world view into chaos.

Back to Journal

Fünf DFFB Nominierungen bei den First Steps Awards 2019

Am 09. September findet die 20. Verleihung der First Steps Awards – des deutschen Nachwuchspreises statt und wir dürfen uns gleich über fünf Nominierungen bei den begehrten Awards freuen:

Regisseurin Susanne Heinrich ist mit ihrem Spielfilm DAS MELANCHOLISCHE MÄDCHEN für den mit 25.000 Euro dotierten Preis für den besten abendfüllenden Spielfilm nominiert.

In der gleichen Kategorie ist auch Regisseur Lothar Herzog mit seinem Spielfilm 1986 nominiert.

Kamerafrau Agnesh Pakozdi ist auch für DAS MELANCHOLISCHE MÄDCHEN für den mit 10.000 Euro dotierten MICHAEL-BALLHAUS-PREIS im Rennen.

Die Producerin Romana Janik ist ebenfalls mit dem Film 1986 für den mit 10.000 Euro dotierten NO FEAR AWARD im Rennen.

Und die fünfte und letzte Nominierung für den mit 10.000 Euro dotierten FIRST STEPS Drehbuchpreis erhält der Autor Jacob Hauptmann für sein Drehbuch ZEIT DER MONSTER.

 

Über die Filme/das Drehbuch

DAS MELANCHOLISCHE MÄDCHEN

Auf der Suche nach einem Schlafplatz streift das melancholische Mädchen durch die Großstadt. Unterwegs begegnet sie jungen Müttern, die ihre Mutterschaft als religiöses Erweckungserlebnis feiern, findet Unterschlupf bei einem abstinenten Existentialisten, für den Sex »auch nur noch ein Markt« ist, und wartet in einer Drag Bar »auf das Ende des Kapitalismus«. Ihr Versuch, ein Buch zu schreiben, scheitert am ersten Satz des zweiten Kapitels, und sie findet keinen Platz zwischen Kunstgalerien, Yoga Studios und den Betten fremder Männer. Statt sich zu bemühen hineinzupassen, fängt das Mädchen an, ihre Depression als Politikum zu betrachten.

Quelle: https://www.salzgeber.de/maedchen/

 

1986

Elena ist Studentin in Minsk, Weißrussland. Sie ist in einer leidenschaftlichen, aber zunehmend komplizierter werdenden, Beziehung mit ihrem Freund Victor. Als ihr Vater plötzlich verhaftet wird, muss sie sich nun um sein illegales Geschäft kümmern. Und um diese Geschäfte abzuwickeln, muss sie fortan in die „verbotene Zone“ von Tschernobyl fahren. Sie ist fasziniert von der trügerischen Schönheit der Zone, doch bald wird ihr Leben von einer zerstörerischen Kraft kontaminiert…

Quelle: https://www.facebook.com/lotharherzogfilms/

 

ZEIT DER MONSTER

Es ist Sommer 1914, kurz vor dem Beginn des Ersten Weltkrieges. Die streng calvinistisch erzogene Krankenschwester Elsa (19) tritt ihre Stellung auf einer abgelegenen Krankenstation in der deutschen Kolonie Kamerun an. Während der leitende Arzt Alexander (37) mit Elsas Hilfe rigoros seine Forschungen für ein Medikament gegen die Schlafkrankheit vorantreibt, kämpft seine Frau Lydia (28) gegen die eigene Zwecklosigkeit. Als Elsa mehrere Tiere der Station vergiftet auffindet, beginnt der Kommandeur der nächstgelegenen Polizeitruppe die Vorfälle mit brutalen Methoden zu untersuchen. Der Einbruch der Gewalt lässt das ohnehin schon fragile Gefüge der Krankenstation auseinanderbrechen und treibt ungestillte Begehren an die Oberfläche, die das geordnete Weltbild von Elsa ins Chaos stürzen.

Zurück zum Journal